Goya- Why I’m an artist today

One of my great teachers I have had shown many master painters and laid them in front of me as I drew. She showed me the great pride they took in their work and showed the movement of the hands and the expression of the line. One day I was doing studies of everyone in the class and she told me to stop. She left for a half an hour and came back with 2 books. One of course was Rembrandt and the other was Goya. Now I love Rembrandt and everyone should. BUT the emotion that Goya put into his work was scary. Portraits having a beautiful dark atmosphere and the rendering of the human face was just breath-taking. I knew a lot of Goya before hand but working and painting and looking at his work just motivated me to work even harder I solute you

Francisco Goya

Leave a Reply

